Now playing image
Last played imageLast played imageLast played imageLast played image
Now playing image
This station is unavailable for streaming in your country.

El Jazzy Chavo – S950 Funk (Funkypseli Cave)

Dec 2, 2022

The title and imagery on this latest Chavo release keep it straight and simple. No need to get confused here. At the start, it slaps you straight and senseless with classic S950 instrumental boom bap. This master is filled with funk and “Jazzy” undertones so typical of the Chavo. The locale he creates is reminiscent of those days gone by as he layers in beautiful samples calling for a revisit to the past. The tempo is laid back (as always) like a spy novel. But, these tracks are too cool, even for 007 to handle.

The album kicks off with solid creations like the Astronomikal Funk. The repeating lyric is solid but never over done as it follows a great head nod. Ghetto Anthem is a must listen for those seeking to understand the range in his creations. Its short subdued beats are carried with keys and maybe even a hidden oboe? Genius. And, don’t leave without opening the door to the smoke-filled room on the inspired Relaxation. You may need some bourbon after hearing this piece to close out this perfect set.

Track Listing:

  1. Spark it
  2. Astronomikal Funk
  3. Impulse
  4. September
  5. Interlune
  6. Ninjutsu Techniques
  7. Space Funk Flow
  8. Cellar Groove
  9. Solar Wind
  10. Interlune II
  11. Ghetto Anthem
  12. Street Degree
  13. Trouble World
  14. Relaxation
  15. Journey From Within

Listen here.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments